Sustainability: Making Your Resolution Stick

January 15, 2012 at 3:11 pm 5 comments

Broken promises Project 365(3) Day 324

How to Succeed

Whether you are of the New Year’s Resolution crowd or, like me, the just-whenever-it-happened Resolution crowd, you are probably wondering the same thing as everyone else: How the heck do I make it stick?! Never fear, the Skinny Girl is here! That’s right, I am in possession of the answer to the question that is as old as the concept of the turn of the year itself. Well…for food, at least. If you made a resolution other than eating healthy, I guess you could try Google. As those now not-so-hopefuls that came here thinking they found the answer to sticking to their resolution of raising prize chickens exit the building, those of us still here about food can settle in and get comfy.

My Story

The key to success is sustainability. What that means is you have to do things you can stick with. I have mentioned something like this in another post of mine, but I know hearing specifics always helps me, so I thought it might help others like me also. The resolution came for me not on New Year’s Day but on June 2, 2011. My weight was something I have struggled with for a while, but that was the day that my decision finally stuck. (You can read more about the why’s and wherefore’s of my resolution here.) I started off my new-found freedom from the power of food by eating less. That’s it. No special diet. No exercise. No weighing myself carefully everyday to determine success. I just ate less. It wasn’t even as hardcore as the only-eat-when-you’re-hungry-and-never-under-any-circumstances-at-any-other-time kind of thing. I still over-ate sometimes; I just did it less. A month later, in the middle of a successful run of eating less, I casually realized how nice it would be to have thirty minutes outside to myself every night. So I took up walking. After the first time my neighbor, a good friend of mine, saw me and demanded that she go too. So she started going with me. The first time she walked with me we ended up going for about 50 minutes (women tend to loose track of time when gabbing, I’ve noticed) and that time just kind of stuck with me. (I still go out for 50 minutes) Two weeks after that I decided to start weighing myself so I could put a number to the success that I could already see in the fit of my clothes. That first time the scale read 188 lb.. (85.28 kg.) Two months later in September, I decided it would be nice to add some strengthening exercises to my aerobic. I kept that up for a month until my husband got into an accident, then quit for a while. (A month ago I added it back.) Recently, I realized that I am finally ready to take the next step in my diet and try to consciously make healthier food choices, so I found about fifteen recipes I want to try and will go from there.

Remember the Past and Anticipate the Future

Obviously, this has been a long, meandering journey. I mean, it has taken me six months to decide that I am ready to eat healthily. And there have been times that I have cursed the slowness of it all. I am used to moving a lot faster than this. But I remind myself of the past. I am an all-or-nothing person. Either the glass is half-full or we’re dead. And in the past that has reared its ugly head and got me stuck right back in the gaining cycle. So when the thought comes that “I really should think about how much processed crap I am gleefully putting into my poor body,” I remember that my “poor body” is so much healthier now that it was months ago. If I tell myself that I won’t be doing good until X happens, I will give up, because I’m not ready for X right now, so I’m obviously not doing well. How many times have you done that. Let’s look at that argument logically for a moment, shall we? For the sake of argument, what if we say X was exercising? I didn’t start that for a month and a half after I made my resolution. What if that was the thing that I used to determine if I was successful? I would have given up because, at the time, I couldn’t quite see how I would manage it and since I wasn’t doing it now, I just wasn’t good enough. But since I didn’t put those stipulations on myself, I didn’t give up, and now I am exercising. It will be the same for everything else. Yes, I have a vision of who I want to be and what I want to be doing in the future, but I am not worried about it right now. I know it will come.
Authentic Vocie - NOT

Be the Best Right-Now-You You Can Be

Instead of wasting your efforts worrying about where you’re not, think about where you are right now. Don’t stress about things you feel that you can’t do. Ask yourself what can you do? Maybe all you feel you can do right now is eat less. Start there, and be proud of yourself every single time you eat less than you did previously. Mistakes will happen. Move past them. Frustrations will come. Don’t listen to them. You are making yourself better, one decision at a time. Nobody says you have to be perfect by next week. You don’t. This is a life-style change. In the span of a life what is a few months? Simply reminding yourself every day that you aren’t the person you were yesterday will help you be the person you want to be tomorrow. Conquer your resolution one decision at a time.

Entry filed under: Addiction and Help. Tags: , , , , .

Organic You’ll Get It Again!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rockafellaskank  |  January 15, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    I didn’t actually know that about you – that very relaxed zen-like approach to your weight loss. Given that my post today is about much angst after weighing in perhaps I need something similar. Perhaps I need to hide my scales for a bit!

    Deb

    Reply
  • 2. Will This Year Be Different? « Wavensongz's Blog  |  January 15, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    […] Sustainability: Making Your Resolution Stick (fatfreebrain.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply
  • 3. skinnygirlrobbins  |  January 15, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    I know exactly how you feel. Overall, I’ve had the go with the flow attitude, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have those moments where I feel like an utter failure and want to throw the scale against the wall while simultaneously eating a huge bar of chocolate.

    Reply
  • 4. Marion  |  January 17, 2012 at 3:54 am

    Hi! I’m pretty sure my problem is feeling overwhelmed with my life. I see the weight gains and losses are closely matching the stressful and more relaxed times of my life. I need to do something to change my perspective. This isn’t only a food issue–it’s a lifestyle issue.

    🙂 Marion

    Reply
    • 5. skinnygirlrobbins  |  January 17, 2012 at 9:32 am

      I know how that can be. Food tends to be the go-to thing when we feel we are out of control. It makes life seem a little more simple right in that moment. For me, changing my perspective came one thought at a time. Slow going, I know, but doable. Good luck!

      Reply

What are your thoughts?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


