Organic

January 14, 2012 at 7:33 am 3 comments

Organic food mela

Image by Hari Prasad Nadig via Flickr

Healthy Foods

I feel like I am ready for the next step in my evolution. I started off eating less, which was a pretty big step for me, but wasn’t quite ready to devote myself to healthier choices. I mean, there are some foods that I have been with for a while and, just like a junior high girl with her first boyfriend, I had no idea how to live my life without them. (More on that to come…) But now I feel like I could start severing the connection. So, the next step is to find healthy recipes. I began looking online (searching “healthy” and “easy,” of course) as well as asking around. A lady I work with told me about a website that had many healthy and easy recipes, so I duly checked it out. I noticed that they were saying a lot about organic foods and them being the best way to go. Being that I was still in the middle of my love affair with frozen taquitos and had no intention of giving them up until recently, I have been woefully unaware of what’s going on in the world of healthy foods. So I realized that I had to look into this “organic food” business.

Organic Food

I found a few interesting sites on organic foods, from which I was able to come up with my final opinion on whether to turn organic or not. I will let you in on a little of what my research dug up. First of all, organic food is subjected to more strenuous guidelines than is conventional foods. (I speak only for the U.S. I am not sure how things are handled in other countries.) These guidelines say that food labeled “organic” be produced with only natural fertilizer and without pesticides. Because of that, there were far fewer pesticides found on organic food than conventional (around 1/3). However, with conventional food still having a pesticide residue far below the acceptable limit, there could be a question of do you want to trade more bugs crawling around your food for less pesticide. And with the natural fertilizer (compost) you have the issue of what bacteria was in the donor animal, although compost is better for the earth. Also, with livestock, only organic food can be fed to them, they must be allowed to have space to grow naturally, and they cannot be given growth hormones. And, there is the fact that the producers of organic food aren’t just trying to make your food better; they are trying to produce something that will be “greener” in the long run. You just have to be careful about what you buy. Just because it is says “organic” doesn’t mean it is local. Some foods produced organically are flown here from various other countries, meaning we loose some of the Earth-friendly qualities. Many people say that organic is better tasting because it is in its natural form and has all of its flavors. A downside to eating organic is that it is very expensive.

Conclusion

Okay, so those are all the facts. I think that based on facts like that it is pretty obvious that one could rationally go either way. There are pros and cons to eating organic as well as to sticking with the conventional foods. I think it is all about the individual and exactly what he or she feels comfortable with. As for me, after delving into the good, the bad, and the ugly of organically grown food, I have decided to go with organic milk and eggs but choose conventional foods elsewhere, making sure to look for locally grown fruits and vegetables. I feel pretty good about that. And really, the main lesson that I took from my research was that whether you choice organic or conventional doesn’t matter quite as much as simply choosing healthy.

What are your thoughts on organic vs conventional foods?

Entry filed under: Nutrition and Exercise. Tags: , , , , .

Impassioned Soul Sustainability: Making Your Resolution Stick

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. konica  |  January 14, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    a warning… isn’t it for a food freak like me! very knowledgeable.thanks!

    Reply
    • 2. skinnygirlrobbins  |  January 15, 2012 at 1:30 pm

      I always feel like I have to “get to the bottom” of every piece of information I hear. I might as well share that research.

      Reply
  • 3. Deborah (Schmiet)  |  January 15, 2012 at 12:12 am

    I tend to buy SOME organic food on offer… more because of the ease or availability (like chicken, eggs, some other meat) but I must confess I haven’t ever made a conscious decision to ONLY buy organic (or not).

    Deb

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


