Mistakes

December 29, 2011 at 10:01 am Leave a comment

With New Year’s Eve coming up, let me offer you a very plausible scenario: You are at your office party. This is a good night. All those uptight, butt-kissing coworkers of yours have loosened up just a little bit. Your boss has had a few drinks already, so he doesn’t notice that everyone finds his jokes just as crappy now as they always have. Actually, with the drinks you have chosen to imbibe so far, you are feeling pretty good right now, too. And though the night wanes, you wax more and more…exuberant. The next thing you know, the alarm rings and you wake up in your bed. How did you come to be there? you wonder. In fact, you wonder about many things that might have happened last night. You remember laughing…a lot, and you are pretty sure your clothes stayed on all night, so that’s a plus. Now, here’s the question (and I will make it multiple choice so it will be easier:) How should you look at last night’s journey into wanton debauchery? A) Wow, that was a little extreme. It probably wasn’t the best choice I’ve ever made in my life, but, hey, it happened, so I need to accept it and move on…and hopefully be prepared to laugh a little at myself when my co-workers bring up my rendition of “I Will Survive” that I performed while dancing on the table. OR B) I can’t believe I did that! How could I just throw away everything I worked for? Well, since I already did it I guess the only logical thing I can do now is to go to work drunk for the rest of my life.”Nacho Cheesier flavor Doritos

Now, it’s obvious that there is only one answer that makes sense, and I’m sure you smiled to yourself a little as you read B, realizing how ridiculous that actually is. But how many times have we done that with food? “I’ve worked so hard on this diet,” you think to yourself, “but I just ate half of what was on the buffet line at China Star…and then I went back for seconds and thirds. In fact, I think I actually pushed down two little old ladies so that I could get to the last of the Sesame Chicken. I suck. Well, I might as well just give up. I obviously am not cut out for this whole diet thing.” Then you proceed to eat an entire bag of Nacho Cheese Doritos just to prove to yourself that you are as pathetic as thought. Um…what?!

Lots of times when you go to loose weight, you are told that it takes around 3500 calories to equal one pound. (1 lb = .5 kg, roughly) They (whoever they are) want you to realize that it takes a lot to lose weight, so be prepared to go about it slowly. But it works the other way, too. You would have to eat 3500 calories to gain one pound. That is a lot of calories! It would be hard to eat that many in one setting. Yet, for less than a one-pound gain, we are ready to throw everything away. How utterly silly. The thing that will keep you going is to realize that eating too much or choosing high fat foods for one meal does not a fatty make. So when you realize that you have ventured into the land of overindulgence, come to terms with your choice, acknowledge it wasn’t the wisest thing you have ever done, and move on. Just like you wouldn’t live the rest of your life as a drunk just because of one night, one meal shouldn’t mean you have to live the rest of your life overweight. Maybe it was a mistake, but the real mistake would be to let one decision affect the rest of your life.

Entry filed under: Addiction and Help. Tags: , , , .

Fear To Post or Not To Post

What are your thoughts?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


