Baby Steps

December 17, 2011 at 8:09 pm 4 comments

English: The AbRipper will give you the results
Image via Wikipedia

There is one thing that really bugs me. Okay, there are actually more than that, but for this blog I will just talk about the one. The others aren’t really pertinent. It frustrates me to no end is those people (you know who I’m talking about) that basically live at the gym, getting “swoll.” They eat all-natural, gluten-free, whole-food good-for-you stuff…only. They look like they just stepped down from Mount Olympus, and most of the time they act like they are doing us a favor of bringing their god-like presense down to Earth to grace us mortals with their divine healthiness. When people talk about any kind of diet or exercise program they are doing, they say something like, “You’re not going to get reseults like that! If you are only going to (eat less/exercise twice a week/cardio only) you might as well not even do it!”

What?! It is that attitude that is responsible for many of the frustrated people today. Now, I must say that there is a recommended amount of exercise you should do per week as well as a suggested diet that will make you a healthier person. (More on that in later posts.) But to say that exercising for fifteen minutes a day instead of thirty is the same as not exercising at all…well, that’s just plain illogical. And since it comes from the mouths of those health deities who must know their stuff (after all, it’s obviously worked for them) we of the less-than-perfect-physique crowd think, “Oh well. I can’t do everything they are suggesting, and since it doesn’t matter anyway, I might as well just give up.”

Let me give it to you straight. And this is really just common sense here. I’m not throwing physics at you. Anything is better than nothing at all! Even if you exercise for five minutes three times a week and only cut out sodas…you are being healthier this week than you were last week. It is just a baby step. Of course, those baby steps aren’t  the leaps over hurdles that we want, but every runner had to learn the same way as we all do: as a baby taking his first steps. Just think of yourself as a health baby. You have to start somewhere.Toddler in Bathrobe Flickr

Another great thing about those baby steps is that they don’t stay “baby.”They usually lead to something bigger. So ask yourself, what is it you can do today? If you have an addiction to food like I had, I know that the thought of giving up your most treasured foods makes you want to eat seven double chocolate cookies right now just to ease the fear. But what if you only gave up butter on your bread, or perhaps you left behind 10% of the food on your plate…well, congratulations! That’s a start! And who knows were it will lead. Today it is five minutes of movement that gets your heart rate up. Soon you will be walking a mile. Then running five. (You get the picture.) The point is, you can’t listen to people who say that what you’re doing right now doesn’t matter at all. It does matter. It is the baby step today that will cause you to leap your hurdles with ease tomorrow. Keep it up!

What is your baby step?

Entry filed under: Addiction and Help. Tags: , , .

Party Day Fear of Jogging…Conquered

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rockafellaskank  |  December 18, 2011 at 5:11 am

    Tomorrow I’m going to start tracking my calories again. I feel like my behaviour has been deteriorating and I’ve been less and less committed to dieting and losing weight and I know that has to stop before it gets out of control.

    Argh!

    Reply
    • 2. skinnygirlrobbins  |  December 18, 2011 at 6:04 am

      Wow, do I ever know how you feel! I have been there a thousand times. You’re doing so good then somehow some evil food demon feeds you all that chocolate. Good luck on starting over. If I could offer any advice to a seasoned diet veteran like yourself, it would be, “Be proud of your small victories!”

      Reply
  • 3. Fear of Jogging…Conquered « fatfreebrain  |  December 18, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    […] Baby Steps (fatfreebrain.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply
  • […] means is you have to do things you can stick with. I have mentioned something like this in another post of mine, but I know hearing specifics always helps me, so I thought it might help others like me […]

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


