Party Day

December 16, 2011 at 1:13 pm Leave a comment

Yesterday was the last day of work before we break for Christmas, so naturally all day in my classes (I brave the trenches to teach, gulp, 8th graders!) we partied. And boy, did I ever eat. Two kids brought pizza for their class, most brought some sort of sweet cookie/cake type thing. One boy even made these delicious chocolate balls with powdered sugar on top (his mom told him he did it wrong, but I think she should change her recipe.) And then, at lunch, our cafeteria served its famous Christmas dinner. So, I threw some of that on the pile of calories I was wracking up.

English: A pizza from the oven. Français : Une...

Image via Wikipedia

But even this cloud of junk food has a silver lining. As much as I probably didn’t need that third piece of pizza, (that’s right…third. But they were really skinny!) I know that last year I would have eaten at least three times that much. I look back at all the little ways I said “no” yesterday and realize that I said, “no,” much more than I said, “yes.”

But is that enough? Forever…no. I know that I made choices at party day I don’t want to keep making the rest of my life. My goal is to get to the point where 80% of my choices are healthy and 20% are junk. Right now I am probably running a 50/50 game. But how much better is 50/50 than 10/90? Like I said yesterday, it has to be all about the small victories. Celebrate right now that I am further up this mountain than I was a year ago or even a month ago. Change comes slowly, but it IS coming. I will keep meeting it gladly every single day.

 

 

Entry filed under: Addiction and Help. Tags: , , .

Small Victories Baby Steps

What are your thoughts?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


