First…why am I writing?

December 13, 2011 at 12:13 am 2 comments

Wow. It is interesting how nervous I am right now. This is the first blog I have done…ever. Not only have I never done a blog myself, but I have never really followed other people’s. So, why am I here? I’m not really interested in the entire world hearing my opinions on the various concerns of the world. I’m not here to talk about “shoes and ships and sealing wax.” So why?

I have started this blog simply because I wish someone would have talked to me years ago about the things I have learned. I wish that I had been able to read a blog that made me say, “Oh…I’m not alone.” So here it is. I have struggled for as long as I can remember with my weight. And not just my weight. That would be too easy. That would be as simple as dieting and viola…skinny. No, the reason I have struggled with weight is because for many years, I had an addiction to food.

Thankfully, I am working through that addiction to be a better person. ( I would say “bigger,” but….) Now, I want to share any possible knowledge I might have gained and will gain as I continue through this experience of finally living free. I also want to recount my struggles so that others can know that they aren’t alone.

When I started my journey, I knew early on that I wanted to help people. I would always have thoughts like, “I will definitely want to share this” or “People really need to hear that.” Finally, I realized that I could have an outlet right now. Hence the blog. I feel like there are so many things I have missed already, but this will be a start. Possibly some stories that I feel I have missed will make it on here. But maybe there will be enough new stories. Either way, I want others like me to know this: You are not alone, and you do not have to be unempowered.

Entry filed under: Addiction and Help. Tags: .

Where I Am From

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rockafellaskank  |  December 15, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Hi there…. as you know from my (Diet Schmiet) blog (not sure if this account links to that or my public one!) I find it really cathartic to write about how I’m feeling. The diet blog is basically anonymous and I keep it separate from the rest of my life… although some crossovers are starting to appear and I guess I’m starting to think that – perhaps I’m prepared to have others know about my weight loss and eating battles as well.

    I find I tend to be honest in my blog as I’m not really writing it with anyone specific in mind. Fingers to keyboard and words into the ether.

    I hope you get some joy (and relief) from this blog!

    Deb

    Reply
    • 2. skinnygirlrobbins  |  December 16, 2011 at 1:28 pm

      Thank you. And thank you for your blog. I’ve really enjoyed the few posts I’ve been able to read so far.

      Reply

What are your thoughts?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


